This program’s centrepiece is the five-movement suite «Melancholia», the latest of a total of ten large-size suites by Schorn.
The first movement weaves expansive melody lines, grows and develops excessive soli. Next is a mystically shining choral with melting colours of woodwinds and brass players through which guitar and piano are shining like crystal structures. In the short, rhythmically distinctive middle part, the brass players are chasing like a hunting canon. The following meditative mood seems lost in reverie. In this part, pentatonic motives circle around each other like a mobile. The furious final spans a wide range that shows the expressive range of the Zurich Jazz Orchestra in all its shining colours.

8. February
8. Feb
Musikklub Mehrspur
Förrlibuckstrasse 109
8005 Zürich